1. #1

    How accurate is speedtest.net?

    ive used a number of different broadband speed checkers all with differing results. I do speedtest.net and i get 5.7 meg to which im happy with then i do namesco then i get 5.3, then i do another one and get 4.5, just wondering if speedtest gives accurate results as i dont know which one to believe,

    Any advice would be great[thumbup]

  2. #2
    Junior Master Onion
    Joined
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Australia, NSW, Lake Macquarie
    Posts
    5,504

    Re: How accurate is speedtest.net?

    I've done a number of tests and speedtest definitely has the most accurate results. They measure ping and take distance into account and then download/upload small files to test your download/upload speed with good accuracy.

    But that doesn't mean that your download speed will change so much when downloading files from long distances. For example When I try to connect to the US using speedtest I get a ping of of around 300 (which is exactly what I get in games) and my connection speed is around 4000kbps/270kbps but when I download from a US server I generally maintain full speed downloads of around 700-750KB/s

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Joined
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Manchester, England, UK, EU, Earth, Solar System 1, Milkyway Galaxy, Cluster 1, Universe 1.
    Posts
    307

    Re: How accurate is speedtest.net?

    I use speedtest, i have 24 Mb Down and 1.4 up.

    Speedtest says i get:

    22 Mb Down, 1.4 Up....

    So its pretty accurate.

    Godd on ping speeds aswell.

  4. #4
    Emperor Apprentice
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • GA-990FXA-UD5
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • FCb
      • Chipset:
      • SB950
      • CPU:
      • FX-8120
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Stock
      • Memory:
      • GSkilld
      • Memory Speed:
      • 1866MHz
      • Video Card(s):
      • Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 850/1040
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • Toshiba Q Pro 512GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1 Pro x64

    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Bible Belt
    Posts
    9,786

    Re: How accurate is speedtest.net?

    For Comcast users I will say that it is extremely inaccurate!

    Damn powerboost. [thumbdown]

  5. #5

    Re: How accurate is speedtest.net?

    Its accurate for me, i guess it all depends on where the test servers are located.

  6. #6
    Veteran Firefly
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
      • Chipset:
      • Intel P45 - ICH10R
      • CPU:
      • Intel Q9550
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 3.6ghz (24h) 3.8ghz Benchmark
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
      • Memory:
      • G-Skill DDR2 8GB 1066 (4x2)
      • Memory Speed:
      • 1066
      • Video Card(s):
      • Zotac 470 AMP 1280MB
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 675mhz Core / 1350mhz Shader / 1720mhz Memory
      • Sound Card:
      • SB Audigy 2 ZS
      • PSU:
      • Corsair TX 850
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • WD 1TB Black OS, WD 3TB, WD 2TB, WD 2.5TB, WD 3TB Ext, WD 2TB ext, Seagate 3Tb Seagate 2TB
      • Optical Drives:
      • Samsung DVD-RW
      • Operating System:
      • Win7 64bit Premium

    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    On, Canada
    Posts
    1,656

    Re: How accurate is speedtest.net?

    Its very accurate for me (Ontario) and out of all other speed test services I have tried its the best, many of the others I am lucky to have them even see half my connections speed [shocked].

  7. #7
    Veteran Onion
    Joined
    Nov 2000
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    4,695

    Re: How accurate is speedtest.net?

    It's also very accurate and consistent for me (Slovenia, EU).
    Last edited by AndY1; September 14, 2008 at 09:04.

  8. #8
    Emperor Apprentice
    Joined
    May 2007
    Posts
    9,962

    Re: How accurate is speedtest.net?

    I did it sometimes before and highest I reached was about 53-54 mbps which is half of what I should get altough in tests my router can only reach 90%/90 mbps but still. I dont think they are that accurate, better try downloading a demo or something to watch your average speed rather than an inaccurate "positive" or "negative" speed like too much or less then what you will get.

  9. #9
    Emperor Apprentice
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Msi GE70
      • CPU:
      • i7 4700MQ
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 3400mhz
      • Memory:
      • 16GB DDR3
      • Memory Speed:
      • 1600mhz CL9
      • Video Card(s):
      • Geforce GTX765m
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 850/4500
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • 64GB Super Raid = 128GB 1000R/800W mb/s SSD + 1500GB
      • Optical Drives:
      • Bluray
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1

    Joined
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    9,622

    Re: How accurate is speedtest.net?

    it`s very accurate for me.

  10. #10
    Proxycon Emperor
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    13,661

    Re: How accurate is speedtest.net?

    i thought it depends on traffic conditions between you and the server. it won't gave you more bandwidth than you have i think.
    Last edited by akinkhoo; September 14, 2008 at 12:42.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts