+ Reply
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. #11
    Junior Onion
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    2,599

    Re: Looking for a new monitor help needed.

    Quote Originally posted by Horrorwood View Post
    They charged me 21 in tax fee's etc... most seem to get through without paying anything. I have not heard of any large amounts being paid.

    There is another thread on it here: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...php?t=18387717 for some UK opinions.



    How long did it take to arrive and where did you get it from? All help greatly appreciated.

  2. #12
    Proxycon Emperor
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Gigabyte z77x-up5 th
      • CPU:
      • i7 3770k
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 4.4ghz
      • CPU Cooler:
      • EK-Supreme HF
      • Memory:
      • Kingston Hyper-X
      • Memory Speed:
      • 2400mhz
      • Video Card(s):
      • 7970 3GB
      • PSU:
      • XFX 850watt
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • 2 x 256gb M4, 3TB HDD
      • Optical Drives:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8

    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Leicestershire, UK
    Posts
    12,523

    Re: Looking for a new monitor help needed.

    Quote Originally posted by bangkokfred View Post
    How long did it take to arrive and where did you get it from? All help greatly appreciated.
    Ebay. There are several brands, Yamakasi Catleap, Achieva, PCBank and Crossover.

    This is the one I bought: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-YAMAKA...item19cec2eb61

    It does not have HDMI though, but there are HDMI models available.

    Delivery takes around 3-4 days (seriously!!).

    --- Post Update ---

    Oh and they all use the same LG lm270wq1 panel which is used in the apple 27" monitors and the Dell U2711. The dell u2711 does not have LED backlight but it is 550+!!

    I'd also imagine the apple 27" is quite a bit more too

  3. #13
    Junior Onion
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    2,599

    Re: Looking for a new monitor help needed.

    Quote Originally posted by Horrorwood View Post
    Ebay. There are several brands, Yamakasi Catleap, Achieva, PCBank and Crossover.

    This is the one I bought: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-YAMAKA...item19cec2eb61

    It does not have HDMI though, but there are HDMI models available.

    Delivery takes around 3-4 days (seriously!!).

    --- Post Update ---

    Oh and they all use the same LG lm270wq1 panel which is used in the apple 27" monitors and the Dell U2711. The dell u2711 does not have LED backlight but it is 550+!!

    I'd also imagine the apple 27" is quite a bit more too




    Thanx they look very good ill see if they do a HDMI model.

  4. #14
    Proxycon Emperor
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Gigabyte z77x-up5 th
      • CPU:
      • i7 3770k
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 4.4ghz
      • CPU Cooler:
      • EK-Supreme HF
      • Memory:
      • Kingston Hyper-X
      • Memory Speed:
      • 2400mhz
      • Video Card(s):
      • 7970 3GB
      • PSU:
      • XFX 850watt
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • 2 x 256gb M4, 3TB HDD
      • Optical Drives:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8

    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Leicestershire, UK
    Posts
    12,523

    Re: Looking for a new monitor help needed.

    Quote Originally posted by bangkokfred View Post
    Thanx they look very good ill see if they do a HDMI model.
    They 100% do, I think it is called "multi" I know it has component, hdmi and dvi

    The only thing is you need a dual link dvi port to be able to do 2560x1440

    Ah, here you go: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1407179872...281%26_rdc%3D1
    Last edited by Horrorwood; May 3, 2012 at 13:46.

  5. #15

    Re: Looking for a new monitor help needed.

    What happens if one of those go wrong?

  6. #16
    Proxycon Emperor
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Gigabyte z77x-up5 th
      • CPU:
      • i7 3770k
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 4.4ghz
      • CPU Cooler:
      • EK-Supreme HF
      • Memory:
      • Kingston Hyper-X
      • Memory Speed:
      • 2400mhz
      • Video Card(s):
      • 7970 3GB
      • PSU:
      • XFX 850watt
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • 2 x 256gb M4, 3TB HDD
      • Optical Drives:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8

    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Leicestershire, UK
    Posts
    12,523

    Re: Looking for a new monitor help needed.

    Quote Originally posted by CorrupT88 View Post
    What happens if one of those go wrong?
    They will pay the return shipping if it is faulty, well most sellers will. I know a few of them have refunded in full from just pictures of it not working, as in you don't have to send it back.

    I've only heard of problems from the seller "bigclothcraft"

    I personally bought mine from "green-sum", he used the worlds biggest box with two other boxes sandwiching it in, no chance of it getting damaged :)

  7. #17
    Senior Proxycon Emperor
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • ASUS P6T
      • Chipset:
      • X58
      • CPU:
      • i7 920
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • stock
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair H50 passive
      • Memory:
      • 6GB
      • Memory Speed:
      • 1066
      • Video Card(s):
      • GTX970
      • PSU:
      • Arctic Cooling 700
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 HP x64

    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Southwest, UK
    Posts
    15,744

    Re: Looking for a new monitor help needed.

    Really tempted. Will have to check my card supports DL. 3-4 days is insane considering passing customs. Quiet time of year for imports I guess.

  8. #18

    Re: Looking for a new monitor help needed.

    I must admit they are ridiculously cheap... Do they have a TW polarizer? (I guess not)

  9. #19
    Proxycon Emperor
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Gigabyte z77x-up5 th
      • CPU:
      • i7 3770k
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 4.4ghz
      • CPU Cooler:
      • EK-Supreme HF
      • Memory:
      • Kingston Hyper-X
      • Memory Speed:
      • 2400mhz
      • Video Card(s):
      • 7970 3GB
      • PSU:
      • XFX 850watt
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • 2 x 256gb M4, 3TB HDD
      • Optical Drives:
      • None
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8

    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Leicestershire, UK
    Posts
    12,523

    Re: Looking for a new monitor help needed.

    Quote Originally posted by russ18uk View Post
    Really tempted. Will have to check my card supports DL. 3-4 days is insane considering passing customs. Quiet time of year for imports I guess.
    Most modern cards support dual link DVI, just with laptops etc you'd struggle. That is why I mentioned it.

    Quote Originally posted by CorrupT88 View Post
    I must admit they are ridiculously cheap... Do they have a TW polarizer? (I guess not)
    I highly doubt it, but at this price!

    I don't know where you are from CorrupT88, but if you are in the USA then they all get through customs with no charges. I think its some kind of trade agreement with south korea

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts