1. #1
    Senior Firefly
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • ASUS Crosshair III Formula R.O.G.
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 1904
      • Chipset:
      • AMD 790FX / SB750
      • CPU:
      • AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black QUAD
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 3.40 GHz stock
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair H50 Hybrid
      • Memory:
      • 4 x 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer (Red+Green LED)
      • Memory Speed:
      • PC3-12800, DDR3-1600, 9-9-9-24, 2T
      • Video Card(s):
      • ASUS RADEON HD6950 2GB GDDR5
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 1250MHz / 840MHz
      • Sound Card:
      • SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium Professional
      • PSU:
      • Antec High Current Pro 1200W [80-plus GOLD]
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • 2 x Crucial m4 SSD 64GB RAID-0 w/ Adaptec 6405e
      • Optical Drives:
      • LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray
      • Operating System:
      • Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Win8 Pro x64

    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,440

    Can't Install Boot Records to RAID0 SSD

    Hello Onions

    See my specs for the hardware

    In the mobo BIOS I turned off all my onboard SATA ports, and set my USB DVD drive as first boot item, then the RAID array on the Adaptec RAID card as only hard drive.

    I got 2 Crucial m4 SSD's in 64GB capacities, updated with latest firmware 000F via burned bootable ISO on my desktop when plugging them individually to mobo directly (successful firmware update on first attempt for both)
    -installed them onto my Adaptec RAID card
    -created array, 16K cluster
    -marked as bootable
    -booted off my Win7 Ultimate SP0 dvd
    -loaded (one) adaptec driver
    -chose the 118gb "drive"
    -got it installing
    -Copying Windows Files: 100%
    -Expanding Windows Files: 100%
    -then an error popped up:

    "Windows could not set the offline locale information. Error code: 0x80FF0000"


    When I reboot and not start the process again, I get a warning that BOOTMGR is missing (hence no boot record)


    The SSD's aren't faulty, chkdsk'd them via USB adapter to my laptop (/f /r /b /x), and reformatted/reverified using adaptec BIOS.
    -No cables are loose
    -No scratches on DVD
    -tried 16K, 32K, and 64K clusters
    -tried installing the OS onto one of the SSDs with RAID array broken, and it wouldn't continue (as if it's detecting another set of drives on another channel)

    In Adaptec RAID BIOS *defaults*:
    -Array Based BBS Support is ON
    -Write Cache (Legacy/Non-Legacy Configured) is ON
    -Device Security Lock is ON
    -Allow Read Ahead is ON
    -SMART is ON

    After researching this, I came to the conclusion that I am not setting up a mobo BIOS setting, RAID card BIOS setting, or not loading a driver (there is only 1 available!).

    Any clues would be appreciated.
    Last edited by Poseidonas; April 23, 2012 at 02:36.

  2. #2
    Veteran Master Onion
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    7,391

    Re: Can't Install Boot Records to RAID0 SSD

    Do you have any other HDD, SSD installed? List your boot order here.

    I have seen this before when I did not have the boot order correct.

  3. #3
    Veteran Onion
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Gigabyte Z68x-UD3H
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • U1H
      • Chipset:
      • Z68
      • CPU:
      • 2600K
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 4.8GHZ
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Megahalem w/ 2x120mm
      • Memory:
      • 8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
      • Memory Speed:
      • DDR3 - 1866 Mhz
      • Video Card(s):
      • SLI 680's
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 7000 mem / 1150 gpu
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek Onboard
      • PSU:
      • Silverstone 850W
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • 2x120GB Samsung 830 SSD Raid0 + 600GB JBOD
      • Optical Drives:
      • Samsung Ext DVD Burner
      • Operating System:
      • Win 8 Pro 64bit

    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    3,934

    Re: Can't Install Boot Records to RAID0 SSD

    Insure your array is set to boot or bootable in the adaptec bios.

    Try booting PC with no drives other than your array plugged in. Leave only 1 stick of ram in the slot, load drivers off your adaptec CD if possible and try to install windows.

    If you can get the files installed and its just a boot issue, make sure your Win partition is set as primary in boot order, boot to win 7 disk repair mode, either run a repair or go to command prompt and type :

    Bootrec /FixMbr
    &
    Bootrec /FixBoot

    then restart.
    Last edited by codydewey; April 23, 2012 at 04:17.

  4. #4
    Senior Firefly
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • ASUS Crosshair III Formula R.O.G.
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 1904
      • Chipset:
      • AMD 790FX / SB750
      • CPU:
      • AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black QUAD
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 3.40 GHz stock
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair H50 Hybrid
      • Memory:
      • 4 x 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer (Red+Green LED)
      • Memory Speed:
      • PC3-12800, DDR3-1600, 9-9-9-24, 2T
      • Video Card(s):
      • ASUS RADEON HD6950 2GB GDDR5
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 1250MHz / 840MHz
      • Sound Card:
      • SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium Professional
      • PSU:
      • Antec High Current Pro 1200W [80-plus GOLD]
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • 2 x Crucial m4 SSD 64GB RAID-0 w/ Adaptec 6405e
      • Optical Drives:
      • LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray
      • Operating System:
      • Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Win8 Pro x64

    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,440

    Re: Can't Install Boot Records to RAID0 SSD

    Quote Originally posted by will_perdikakis View Post
    Do you have any other HDD, SSD installed? List your boot order here.

    I have seen this before when I did not have the boot order correct.
    I do have other HDD's present, but I disabled the SATA ports connected to them, or removed the drives from the front bay (I have 2 that are hot swap)

    I know that for proper OS setup, I must have the setup the least confusing to the software as possible, as I learned from my past experiences.

    The current boot order is:

    1. USB DVD drive (memorex slim MRX-650LE v1)
    2. RAID:1220SA#0-#0 S

    This is with a American Megatrends BIOS v2.61 (latest firmware on mobo, SSD's, and RAID card)

    The motherboard has a AMD SB750 southbridge, and AMD790FX northbridge. That southbridge is linked to the onboard SATA ports

    This is the SATA layout (mind you I kept the SATA ports disabled in BIOS throughout process, but enabled them to boot off burner in case it would give me a different conclusion)

    SATA 1: Western Digital 500GB Caviar Blue (my D drive which contains most software installs and downloads)
    SATA 2: UNUSED
    SATA 3: Antec front-bay cage housing a WD VR 150GB drive (disengaged during system setup)
    SATA 4: Antec front-bay cage housing a WD 500GB Caviar Blue (disengaged during system setup)
    SATA 5: Plextor PX-880SA burner

    After I get the OS up and running, the boot order will have the RAID array as #1 with the remainder disabled for bootup. I don't keep the optical drives listed in case I accidentally leave a bootable disc present.



    Quote Originally posted by codydewey View Post
    Insure your array is set to boot or bootable in the adaptec bios.

    Try booting PC with no drives other than your array plugged in. Leave only 1 stick of ram in the slot, load drivers off your adaptec CD if possible and try to install windows.

    If you can get the files installed and its just a boot issue, make sure your Win partition is set as primary in boot order, boot to win 7 disk repair mode, either run a repair or go to command prompt and type :

    Bootrec /FixMbr
    &
    Bootrec /FixBoot

    then restart
    Yep, the array was set as bootable in the adaptec bios. I never tried booting with the regular drives connected or connected+active. My drivers I am loading off a USB thumbdrive, not a CD.

    I attempted to utilize DISKPART, but that claims there is an issue creating a partition on the volume designated for my RAID.

    Here is what I'm going to try to do:
    -burn drivers for adaptec to a CD instead of using a USB device
    -attempt to install the OS onto one of the SSDs attached to the adaptec card, set as bootable, and intentionally not listing the 2nd SSD
    -if this still occurrs, I will use DISKPART to create the RAID0 array and then try again

    If anyone has any more ideas in the meantime, please post. I'll be leaving soon for work so no updates from myself till late tonight.

  5. #5
    Senior Firefly
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • ASUS Crosshair III Formula R.O.G.
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 1904
      • Chipset:
      • AMD 790FX / SB750
      • CPU:
      • AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black QUAD
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 3.40 GHz stock
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair H50 Hybrid
      • Memory:
      • 4 x 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer (Red+Green LED)
      • Memory Speed:
      • PC3-12800, DDR3-1600, 9-9-9-24, 2T
      • Video Card(s):
      • ASUS RADEON HD6950 2GB GDDR5
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 1250MHz / 840MHz
      • Sound Card:
      • SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium Professional
      • PSU:
      • Antec High Current Pro 1200W [80-plus GOLD]
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • 2 x Crucial m4 SSD 64GB RAID-0 w/ Adaptec 6405e
      • Optical Drives:
      • LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray
      • Operating System:
      • Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Win8 Pro x64

    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,440

    Re: Can't Install Boot Records to RAID0 SSD

    So here is the update.

    None of the previous tips worked.

    I currently configured it as a RAID1 array, and chose the "clear" command to write 0's to the drives

    If this fails, then I'll need to bypass my Adaptec 1220SA RAID card, and connect the 2 SSD's to the motherboard directly.

    I will then set up RAID0 and attempt the installation again. Then RAID1 if that fails.

    If that fails, I will try installing Windows to a single SSD.

    I will also be attempting to install Windows 8 RC and Windows Server 2008 if Windows 7 fails. Hell, I might even try the x86 edition for kicks.

    This is getting ridiculous.

    I'll post results tonight or tomorrow now that I have a day off to spend fiddling with this. I'm hoping its something minor that I overlooked so that no new hardware needs to be purchased
    Last edited by Poseidonas; April 24, 2012 at 22:39.

  6. #6
    Senior Firefly
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • ASUS Crosshair III Formula R.O.G.
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 1904
      • Chipset:
      • AMD 790FX / SB750
      • CPU:
      • AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black QUAD
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 3.40 GHz stock
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair H50 Hybrid
      • Memory:
      • 4 x 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer (Red+Green LED)
      • Memory Speed:
      • PC3-12800, DDR3-1600, 9-9-9-24, 2T
      • Video Card(s):
      • ASUS RADEON HD6950 2GB GDDR5
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 1250MHz / 840MHz
      • Sound Card:
      • SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium Professional
      • PSU:
      • Antec High Current Pro 1200W [80-plus GOLD]
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • 2 x Crucial m4 SSD 64GB RAID-0 w/ Adaptec 6405e
      • Optical Drives:
      • LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray
      • Operating System:
      • Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Win8 Pro x64

    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,440

    Re: Can't Install Boot Records to RAID0 SSD

    RAID1 worked with the Adaptec 1220SA RAID card.

    OS installed perfectly fine and booted up. All drivers, but one, were preinstalled. Installed the GPU driver and ran the WEI test just to see what my score would be: 7.1 (5.9 with hdd's)

    Noticed when I restarted, the Adaptec card stated that while each drive pass SMART, the array is "Degraded."

    started CHKDSK on the drive array, and it passed with no errors.

    Running "verify media" command in adaptec raid bios....

    If one failed now, this would explain RAID0 failure. *sigh
    Last edited by Poseidonas; April 25, 2012 at 01:08.

  7. #7
    Firefly
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Asus P67 PRO
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • Latest
      • Chipset:
      • P67
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 2700K
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 5ghz
      • CPU Cooler:
      • XSPC RX360 Kit
      • Memory:
      • G.Skill CL9 2x4gb
      • Memory Speed:
      • 2133
      • Video Card(s):
      • 670GTX SLI
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 1266core 3800mem
      • Sound Card:
      • Logitech G930
      • PSU:
      • 1000Watt
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • Vertex 3 120gb Raid0
      • Optical Drives:
      • Asus 24x DVD Burner
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64

    Joined
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,116

    Re: Can't Install Boot Records to RAID0 SSD

    Its always best to disable/unplug any hard drives besides your ssd raid0 configuration or windows setup can and will install the mbr onto one of your other drives.
    Last edited by Jukens; April 25, 2012 at 01:20.

  8. #8
    Senior Firefly
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • ASUS Crosshair III Formula R.O.G.
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 1904
      • Chipset:
      • AMD 790FX / SB750
      • CPU:
      • AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black QUAD
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 3.40 GHz stock
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair H50 Hybrid
      • Memory:
      • 4 x 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer (Red+Green LED)
      • Memory Speed:
      • PC3-12800, DDR3-1600, 9-9-9-24, 2T
      • Video Card(s):
      • ASUS RADEON HD6950 2GB GDDR5
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 1250MHz / 840MHz
      • Sound Card:
      • SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium Professional
      • PSU:
      • Antec High Current Pro 1200W [80-plus GOLD]
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • 2 x Crucial m4 SSD 64GB RAID-0 w/ Adaptec 6405e
      • Optical Drives:
      • LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray
      • Operating System:
      • Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Win8 Pro x64

    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,440

    Re: Can't Install Boot Records to RAID0 SSD

    Quote Originally posted by Jukens View Post
    Its always best to disable/unplug any hard drives besides your ssd raid0 configuration or windows setup can and will install the mbr onto one of your other drives.
    *sigh* I am not a n00b, sir.

    I guess most people still don't read before they post.


    UPDATE:
    I ran the Adaptec Storage Manager software in Windows. I believe the following will determine the root issue:

    Build/Verify failed: Controller 1, Logical Device 1 ("RAID1")[21]
    Logical Device Is Degraded: Controller 1, Logical Device 1 ("RAID1")


    I'm assuming it is stating the RAID(device) is bad, not the card (controller).

    Looks like the next plan, to remove the card and install the SSDs to the onboard RAID, will need to commence.

  9. #9
    Senior Firefly
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • ASUS Crosshair III Formula R.O.G.
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 1904
      • Chipset:
      • AMD 790FX / SB750
      • CPU:
      • AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black QUAD
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 3.40 GHz stock
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair H50 Hybrid
      • Memory:
      • 4 x 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer (Red+Green LED)
      • Memory Speed:
      • PC3-12800, DDR3-1600, 9-9-9-24, 2T
      • Video Card(s):
      • ASUS RADEON HD6950 2GB GDDR5
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 1250MHz / 840MHz
      • Sound Card:
      • SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium Professional
      • PSU:
      • Antec High Current Pro 1200W [80-plus GOLD]
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • 2 x Crucial m4 SSD 64GB RAID-0 w/ Adaptec 6405e
      • Optical Drives:
      • LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray
      • Operating System:
      • Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Win8 Pro x64

    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,440

    RESOLVED: Adaptec 1220SA NOT SSD-Friendly

    Hello again Onions,

    After more research looking for a new RAID card, I ran across newer reviews of my Adaptec 1220SA RAID on NewEgg.

    Apparently, this card is NOT SSD-friendly. As a result, I can safely ignore the warning the adaptec stated about the array being degraded.

    I confirmed this by successfully installing my SSDs to the AMD SB750's RAID controller on my motherboard, and installing Windows flawlessly.

    I also didn't know that the Adaptec is not a true hardware-based RAID , since I read, one of these reviews, that it still uses a software controller

    So new RAID card, no problem.


    Thank you all

    Hello again Onions,

    After more research looking for a new RAID card, I ran across newer reviews of my Adaptec 1220SA RAID on NewEgg.

    Apparently, this card is NOT SSD-friendly. As a result, I can safely ignore the warning the adaptec stated about the array being degraded.

    I confirmed this by successfully installing my SSDs to the AMD SB750's RAID controller on my motherboard, and installing Windows flawlessly.

    I also didn't know that the Adaptec is not a true hardware-based RAID , since I read, one of these reviews, that it still uses a software controller

    So new RAID card, no problem.

    Thank you all for the help


    P.S. the Windows Experience Index was higher now in RAID0.

    SATA2 VR 150GB: 5.9
    SATA2 RAID1: 7.1
    SATA2 RAID0: 7.6
    SATA3 RAID0: will find out with new card
    Last edited by Poseidonas; April 25, 2012 at 21:06.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts