1. #21
    Master Onion
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • MSI MPower
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 17.5
      • Chipset:
      • Z77
      • CPU:
      • i7 3770k
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 4.4Ghz
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Zalman 12x
      • Memory:
      • Corsair Vengeance LP
      • Memory Speed:
      • 1600Mhz
      • Video Card(s):
      • XFX AMD Radeon 7950
      • Video Card Speed:
      • Stock
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek 898
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 850watt
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • Crucial M4 128gig SSD, Samsung 1TB, WD 640Gig, Seagate 500Gig
      • Optical Drives:
      • LG DVD writer
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 Pro

    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Wigan,UK
    Posts
    5,863

    Re: EVGA x58 SLI LE, 6GB RAM installed, but only 4GB usable?

    I might have solved my 4gig problem first up if your running 1T change it to 2T if your running your mem high speed & low Lat ie 7-7-7-20 ect.

    Second go into bios and all your QPI timing ect set them to manual don't leave anything on auto

    Now i done a complete cold boot from power off from the PSU, this would usually make it change back to 4gig & it's not done it this time still saying 6gig in both bios & windows 7

    hopefully this might have solved the 4gig problem for me.

  2. #22

    Re: EVGA x58 SLI LE, 6GB RAM installed, but only 4GB usable?

    Try to see in task manager > resource monitor > memory ( tab ) and check out the hardware reserved memory.. I have 8GB and its only reserving 2MB.. I've seen this happen a couple of times already where the hardware reserve becomes 2-6GB

  3. #23
    Junior Onion
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Asrock Z77 Pro 4
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 1.70
      • Chipset:
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 3570K
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair Hydro H60
      • Memory:
      • 2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile 1.35v
      • Memory Speed:
      • PC3-12800 (1600MHz)
      • Video Card(s):
      • EVGA Nvidia GTX 560 TI FPB
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX850 Professional Series Gold
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • OCZ RevoDrive 3 120GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 Pro

    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,603

    Re: EVGA x58 SLI LE, 6GB RAM installed, but only 4GB usable?

    Quote Originally posted by IXON View Post
    I might have solved my 4gig problem first up if your running 1T change it to 2T if your running your mem high speed & low Lat ie 7-7-7-20 ect.

    Second go into bios and all your QPI timing ect set them to manual don't leave anything on auto

    Now i done a complete cold boot from power off from the PSU, this would usually make it change back to 4gig & it's not done it this time still saying 6gig in both bios & windows 7

    hopefully this might have solved the 4gig problem for me.
    It does appear to be a timing issue. I've relaxed the tras as auto set it to 19, and I set it to 22 manually now. Need more time to see if comp is stable though, but it does appear to be related to automatic settings in the BIOS.

  4. #24
    Junior Onion
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Asrock Z77 Pro 4
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 1.70
      • Chipset:
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 3570K
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair Hydro H60
      • Memory:
      • 2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile 1.35v
      • Memory Speed:
      • PC3-12800 (1600MHz)
      • Video Card(s):
      • EVGA Nvidia GTX 560 TI FPB
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX850 Professional Series Gold
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • OCZ RevoDrive 3 120GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 Pro

    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,603

    Re: EVGA x58 SLI LE, 6GB RAM installed, but only 4GB usable?

    Quote Originally posted by darkblade088 View Post
    Try to see in task manager > resource monitor > memory ( tab ) and check out the hardware reserved memory.. I have 8GB and its only reserving 2MB.. I've seen this happen a couple of times already where the hardware reserve becomes 2-6GB
    I'll check next time the RAM goes missing.

  5. #25
    Junior Onion
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Asrock Z77 Pro 4
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 1.70
      • Chipset:
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 3570K
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair Hydro H60
      • Memory:
      • 2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile 1.35v
      • Memory Speed:
      • PC3-12800 (1600MHz)
      • Video Card(s):
      • EVGA Nvidia GTX 560 TI FPB
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX850 Professional Series Gold
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • OCZ RevoDrive 3 120GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 Pro

    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,603

    Re: EVGA x58 SLI LE, 6GB RAM installed, but only 4GB usable?

    Quote Originally posted by darkblade088 View Post
    Try to see in task manager > resource monitor > memory ( tab ) and check out the hardware reserved memory.. I have 8GB and its only reserving 2MB.. I've seen this happen a couple of times already where the hardware reserve becomes 2-6GB
    I just had another BSOD, and it's as you mentioned. After comp rebooted, and I'm back on the Windows desktop and I notice that only 4 GB is usable, with 6 GB detected however.
    I checked the Memory tab and it lists Hardware Reserved 2057 MB.

    Now why would hardware, and more importantly, which hardware, reserve 2 GB of RAM.

    GPU? I noticed AERO turned it self off briefly, then back on some 20-25 seconds later, only to turn it self off again.

    EDIT: A reboot (twice infact) did not bring back the RAM, only a shutdown and powerup again.
    Last edited by Morell; November 30, 2009 at 16:50.

  6. #26

    Re: EVGA x58 SLI LE, 6GB RAM installed, but only 4GB usable?

    Well I've decided to join in the fray. I'm also experiencing issues with this on my new build.

    Win 7 x64
    EVGA x58 sli le
    i7 920
    Mushkin Blackline 3x2 (8-8-8-24) vdimm = 1.65v vtt = +mv275 2:12

    I'll only get 4gig usable after a extended cold boot. I'll get back to 6gigs if I enter the bios and toggle a setting. Highly irritating that this wont stick. The components are working by the fact I can get it to register all 6 gigs. I'm on the latest bios update as well as latest chipset.

    IXON have you had any luck with your settings in fixing this problem.

    Pr0d


    One more thing. I am also getting the 2057 reserved ram. Last night I attempted raising the vtt voltage and after adjusting that got 6 gigs to register with only 9 MB of reserved ram for hardware. It then reverted this morning....

    Anyone opened a ticket with EVGA?
    Last edited by Pr0digY; December 2, 2009 at 00:08.

  7. #27
    Junior Onion
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Asrock Z77 Pro 4
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 1.70
      • Chipset:
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 3570K
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair Hydro H60
      • Memory:
      • 2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile 1.35v
      • Memory Speed:
      • PC3-12800 (1600MHz)
      • Video Card(s):
      • EVGA Nvidia GTX 560 TI FPB
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX850 Professional Series Gold
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • OCZ RevoDrive 3 120GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 Pro

    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,603

    Re: EVGA x58 SLI LE, 6GB RAM installed, but only 4GB usable?

    New BIOS released a couple hours ago. But it hasn't changed anything for me, in fact first boot after the BIOS flash resulted in the curious case of missing RAM again, and I was 2 GB short. After I shutdown and sttarted up again, all 6GB are there and available, and Hardware reserved is only a few MB.

    I'm at a loss at the moment though, Googled high and low, and it does appear to be an uncommon/common issue, but there's no definite solution yet.

    For reference here's my sys & software specs
    Matrox v64 gxm 2.06.00026 WHQL
    Nvidia 195.65 WHQL
    Intel i7 920
    6 GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 TripleChannel
    EVGA x58 SLI LE (LE S71H)
    OCZ Vertex Turbo 60GB
    Nvidia 295GTX MSI
    Creative X-FI Titanium FATALITY (XFTI_PCDRV_LB_2_17_0007)
    3x Dell 2209WA
    Antec 183 case with Antec Signature 850w PSU.
    Logitech G15 + MX518
    Win 7 x64 Retail (DirectX August distributable, 7z, Firefox, Foxitreader, STEAM, Logitech Setpoint, EVGA recommended Chipset drivers)

    ps. 5040x1050 doesn't work with current driers/matrox software, so only using one monitor ATM.
    Last edited by Morell; December 1, 2009 at 18:06.

  8. #28
    Junior Onion
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Asrock Z77 Pro 4
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 1.70
      • Chipset:
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 3570K
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair Hydro H60
      • Memory:
      • 2x4 GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile 1.35v
      • Memory Speed:
      • PC3-12800 (1600MHz)
      • Video Card(s):
      • EVGA Nvidia GTX 560 TI FPB
      • Sound Card:
      • Onboard
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX850 Professional Series Gold
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • OCZ RevoDrive 3 120GB
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 x64 Pro

    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    2,603

    Re: EVGA x58 SLI LE, 6GB RAM installed, but only 4GB usable?

    EDIT: Little too quick there to judge the drivers, still get memory_management BSOD.

    Well I found the culprit for my BSOD's, the latest Nvidia driver 195.65 causes memory_management and other BSODs. Was hell trying to remove it too as I kept getting BSODs when trying to uninstall them, so ended up having to install 185.50 on top of them.
    I suspect they may have a hand in the missing memory too, but time will tell.
    Last edited by Morell; December 2, 2009 at 18:11.

  9. #29

    Re: EVGA x58 SLI LE, 6GB RAM installed, but only 4GB usable?

    I'm thinking voltage settings are the culprit more and more.I'm getting all the ram to show up and work, just not on the first extended cold boot. It takes another quick cold boot. Something is not getting enough power to pick up all the memory during that first extended cold boot. I'll just have to play around some more. This morning I upped the QPI PLL VCore and the IOH VCore both from 1.1v to 1.2v. I'll report back if this made a difference.

    Pr0d

  10. #30
    Junior Proxycon Emperor
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • eVGA Classified 3
      • Chipset:
      • x58
      • CPU:
      • i7 920
      • Memory:
      • Corsair Dom GT 2000Mhz
      • Video Card(s):
      • 3x GTX480
      • Sound Card:
      • X-Fi PCI-E
      • PSU:
      • Silverstone Strider 1500W
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • Spinpoint F1 / Intel 80GB SSD
      • Optical Drives:
      • LiteOn DVD R/W
      • Operating System:
      • Win7 Ultimate X64

    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,934

    Re: EVGA x58 SLI LE, 6GB RAM installed, but only 4GB usable?

    Quote Originally posted by Morell View Post
    EDIT: Little too quick there to judge the drivers, still get memory_management BSOD.

    Well I found the culprit for my BSOD's, the latest Nvidia driver 195.65 causes memory_management and other BSODs. Was hell trying to remove it too as I kept getting BSODs when trying to uninstall them, so ended up having to install 185.50 on top of them.
    I suspect they may have a hand in the missing memory too, but time will tell.
    check your CPU socket for bent pins.

    Whenit is in triple channel config, alot of programs assume it is 6GB. 2x2x"2".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts