1. #1
    Junior Onion
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • BIOSTAR TH67B
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 2400
      • Memory:
      • 4 GBytes DDR3 1333
      • Video Card(s):
      • GTX 750
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC892
      • PSU:
      • Corsair CMPSU-550VX 550W
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • WD Blue 500GB 7200RPM
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium x64

    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,634

    Update BIOS before installing new CPU?

    Tomorrow I should be receiving the following new hardware:

    AMD Phenom II X2 550
    GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD4P

    On Gigabytes website is says that the Phenom II X2 550 is supported. But since the 550 has just been released, I am guessing that I will need to do a BIOS update.

    Will the computer boot if I install the 550 before doing the BIOS update? Or will I need to first install my current CPU (X2 3800+) on the new motherboard, update the bios, and then install the 550?

  2. #2
    Senior Firefly
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Asrock Z77 OC Formula
      • CPU:
      • I5 3570
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • 4200
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Frio
      • Memory:
      • corsair dominator 2x8 gig
      • Memory Speed:
      • 1600
      • Video Card(s):
      • 2x Sapphire 7950 flex boost
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 1100/1350
      • Sound Card:
      • X-FI Z
      • PSU:
      • OCZ 850 zx Gold
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • Intel 520 ssd os- Corsair M500 960 gb 3 other 1tb hd's
      • Optical Drives:
      • lg
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 Pro x64 SP1

    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Grand Forks ND
    Posts
    1,313

    Re: Update BIOS before installing new CPU?

    If the bios does not support the new cpu id it will not boot. flash the new bios before swapping out cpu's.

  3. #3
    Junior Onion
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • BIOSTAR TH67B
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 2400
      • Memory:
      • 4 GBytes DDR3 1333
      • Video Card(s):
      • GTX 750
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC892
      • PSU:
      • Corsair CMPSU-550VX 550W
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • WD Blue 500GB 7200RPM
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium x64

    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,634

    Re: Update BIOS before installing new CPU?

    Thanks for the reply.

    It is a good thing that I have this old socket AM2 processor that I can use while flashing the BIOS. I imagine that a situation like this could be really frustrating for someone building a new computer from scratch.

  4. #4
    Veteran Master Onion
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Worcestershire UK
    Posts
    7,145

    Re: Update BIOS before installing new CPU?

    definatly a good idea


    i hade a NEW mobo when the core2 boards came out and everything on the mobo web site siad it was compatible out the box, any way when installed it would boot but would bot post................. several hours of problem solving and i got round to putting the old CPU in and it worked fine then updated the BIOS and then switched the CPU and it booted and posted


    there was i thinking i had done something wrong and i was looking for a problem i never had


    learned from this as it definatly takes away what could be an issue when you turn it on

  5. #5
    Junior Onion
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • BIOSTAR TH67B
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 2400
      • Memory:
      • 4 GBytes DDR3 1333
      • Video Card(s):
      • GTX 750
      • Sound Card:
      • Realtek ALC892
      • PSU:
      • Corsair CMPSU-550VX 550W
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • WD Blue 500GB 7200RPM
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium x64

    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,634

    Re: Update BIOS before installing new CPU?

    I successfully flashed the bios on my new motherboard, and I have installed my new CPU.

    I am still using the same graphics card I was previously, a GeForce 8800GTS 320MB, but my 3dMark06 score increased from 7430 to 10038. I think that's pretty good for a CPU upgrade.

  6. #6
    Junior Master Onion
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calgary Canada
    Posts
    5,371

    Re: Update BIOS before installing new CPU?

    Quote Originally posted by BrandonV View Post
    Thanks for the reply.

    It is a good thing that I have this old socket AM2 processor that I can use while flashing the BIOS. I imagine that a situation like this could be really frustrating for someone building a new computer from scratch.
    It's one of my pet peeves. If your going to sell a motherboard make damn sure it comes with the very latest bios. I don't give a <censored> how new or old it is, it should be a common practice. It's not.

    Nice purchase btw, very good bang for the buck cpu!! Love the motherboard to. They are becoming very popular sellers. The feature set is killer for such a board and there are very few like it out there at that price.
    Last edited by Kalidren; July 24, 2009 at 04:15.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts