View Poll Results: How often do you move your Wireless Access Point/Router

Voters
15. You may not vote on this poll
  • One a month

    1 6.67%
  • Once a year

    3 20.00%
  • More than a year

    10 66.67%
  • All the time

    1 6.67%
  1. #1
    Senior Onion
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK, London
    Posts
    3,121

    Help! - Do you more your Wireless Access Point/Router?

    Hey guys,

    As a part of my final year dissertation I'm trying to guesstimate how often someone moves their wireless access point/router.

    If this sounds like an odd question, I'll point you towards SkyHook. Basically, the signal broadcast from your AP can be related to an actual position. When someone detects that signal, you can estimate they are "likely" in that area. You essentually end up with a positioning system of sorts :)

    So, if you can spare 10 seconds to click /\. I'd really appreciate it :)


    [Wops, I'm sure you dont "more" your access point that often :P]

    ..Seriously not a good day for me, I posted in the wrong forum! Dammit
    Last edited by Mnet_Gaming; April 6, 2009 at 11:19. Reason: Stupid hands

  2. #2
    Emperor Apprentice
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Asus P7P55D
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 2003
      • Chipset:
      • Intel P55 Express
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 750
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Stock Intel
      • Memory:
      • G.Skill Ripjaw (F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH)
      • Memory Speed:
      • 1600MHz
      • Video Card(s):
      • PowerColor ATI HD 5850
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 1000 mem / 725 gpu
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DX
      • PSU:
      • OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w Silent
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • Western Digital Caviar Black 1Tb 32Mb cache (WD1001FALS)
      • Optical Drives:
      • LG GH22NS50 DVDRW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium x64 SP1

    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    9,020

    Go

    Where is the option for "I plug it in and then just leave it well alone".

    Also, looking on their site they say;

    1. Automated Self-Healing Network Each Wi-Fi location transaction starts with a scan for nearby access points. The resulting access point information is then compared against the central reference network. Known access points (those already in the reference network) are used to calculate the location of the device.
    Any access point that is either not in the database or was previously associated with a different geographic location is automatically identified and its current position entered into the database. In this manner, XPS automatically fixes and expands the Wi-Fi reference network as it is being used.
    So it shouldn't really matter too much if you move your AP. Even if you do move it, your house is probably quite small so you won't really have too much of an effect.
    ________
    Alcohol rehab forums
    ________
    Blondeyana Cam
    Last edited by jb2cool; August 24, 2011 at 17:35.

  3. #3
    Senior Onion
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK, London
    Posts
    3,121

    Re: Help! - Do you more your Wireless Access Point/Router?

    [Snip]

    Haha, that's the hidden option, you've gotta find it ;)... My theory is you're "eventually" going to move it, maybe to the bin... So 2~ years should suffice.


    As far as moving it around a building, my system is a lot more precise that than. Around 3 meters, it's designed to be used in a building (or outside). And in in theory, what's to stop you moving?


    ...side note: haven't seen you in a while J2!

  4. #4
    Emperor Apprentice
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • Asus P7P55D
      • Motherboard BIOS:
      • 2003
      • Chipset:
      • Intel P55 Express
      • CPU:
      • Intel i5 750
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Stock Intel
      • Memory:
      • G.Skill Ripjaw (F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH)
      • Memory Speed:
      • 1600MHz
      • Video Card(s):
      • PowerColor ATI HD 5850
      • Video Card Speed:
      • 1000 mem / 725 gpu
      • Sound Card:
      • Asus Xonar DX
      • PSU:
      • OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w Silent
      • Hard Drive(s):
      • Western Digital Caviar Black 1Tb 32Mb cache (WD1001FALS)
      • Optical Drives:
      • LG GH22NS50 DVDRW
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium x64 SP1

    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bracknell, UK
    Posts
    9,020

    Go

    Yeah, been out of the loop for a couple of years. Back now though
    ________
    TOYS BDSM
    Last edited by jb2cool; April 4, 2011 at 21:36.

  5. #5
    Senior Proxycon Emperor
    • Computer Specs
      • Motherboard or Laptop:
      • ASUS P6T
      • Chipset:
      • X58
      • CPU:
      • i7 920
      • CPU Overclock Speed:
      • stock
      • CPU Cooler:
      • Corsair H50 passive
      • Memory:
      • 6GB
      • Memory Speed:
      • 1066
      • Video Card(s):
      • GTX970
      • PSU:
      • Arctic Cooling 700
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 HP x64

    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Southwest, UK
    Posts
    15,745

    Re: Help! - Do you more your Wireless Access Point/Router?

    I don't move my AP at all, either, just stays in a central position in the house in a wardrobe.

  6. #6
    Senior Onion
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    UK, London
    Posts
    3,121

    Re: Help! - Do you more your Wireless Access Point/Router?

    Quote Originally posted by jb2cool View Post
    Yeah, been out of the loop for a couple of years. Back now though

    It's funny how much everything has changed, I'm sure MO used to have hundreds and hundreds of online browsers at its peak.


    Look, it's russ. Let's have a reunion :P

  7. #7
    Firefly
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Posts
    1,047

    Re: Help! - Do you more your Wireless Access Point/Router?

    I have moved my AP 3 times in the last 8 years, and that was because I was moving home.

  8. #8
    Junior Proxycon Emperor
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Wolverhampton UK
    Posts
    10,840

    Re: Help! - Do you more your Wireless Access Point/Router?

    I think most people wouldn't ever move it. But then again when people have a reshuffle or they redecorate they can get moved, mine moved a whole 3 meters to the other end of my office 2 months ago.

    Was so exciting i could barely control myself [thumbup]

  9. #9
    Emperor Apprentice
    Joined
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    9,101

    Re: Help! - Do you more your Wireless Access Point/Router?

    I would say never... Up until now, one unit with the right antenna(s) has always sufficed. For the house we've been looking to buy, I was gonna put one on each floor and another out in the garage in a combined wireless mesh. Reason being is that we are only going to have 1-2 wired phones (by wired I mean VoIP) in the house, and the rest are wireless VoIP. Cisco for WAPs, Air Controller, Call Manager and Phones... AT&T for SIP service.

  10. #10
    Senior Firefly
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,503

    Re: Help! - Do you more your Wireless Access Point/Router?

    Mine doesn't move. There is a closet downstairs where all the voice/data/CATV cabling terminates, its in there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts